Florida Disaster.org Florida Division of Emergency Management
State Emergency Response Team
State Emergency ResponseTeam
Prepare and Stay Aware!

Home / Info / Know Your Zone

Know Your Zone

County specific resources
Counties WITHOUT Evacuation Zones
"Low-lying" areas
Zone Designations

For most Florida counties susceptible to coastal storm surge, evacuation zones have been designated. However, NOT all Florida counties have designated evacuation zones.

Know Your Zone - search by address to determine if you are in a designated evacuation zone.

Maps - access a map for your county

You may also visit these links for more specific information from Florida counties.

Bay Gadsden Pasco
Brevard Hernando Pinellas
Broward Hillsborough Putnam
Calhoun Indian River Santa Rosa
Charlotte Lee Sarasota
Clay Levy St. Johns
Citrus Manatee St. Lucie
Collier Miami-Dade Taylor
Duval Nassau Volusia
Escambia Martin Wakulla
Flagler Okaloosa Walton
Franklin Palm Beach Washington


Counties that DO NOT Have Designated Evacuation Zones

The following counties DO NOT have designated evacuation zones. These counties may still issue evacuation orders, but these orders will NOT refer to designated evacuation zones.

Alachua Hendry Okeechobee
Baker Highlands Orange
Bradford Holmes Monroe
Calhoun Jackson Osceola
Columbia Jefferson Polk
DeSoto Liberty Seminole
Gilchrist Lafayette Sumter
Glades Lake Suwannee
Gulf Leon Union
Hamilton Madison  
Hardee Marion  

"Low-lying areas"

Evacuation orders are often issued for "mobile homes and low-lying areas". There are no maps to designate these areas. However, there are designated Flood Zones.

FEMA Map Service Center - search by address to determine if you are in a flood zone

Evacuation orders are not generally made using flood zone designations. However, those in flood zones should consider themselves in "low-lying areas" and susceptible to flooding from storm surge in coastal areas and heavy rain as well.

Zone Designations

Evacuation Zones are designated by letter. Vulnerability may be assumed to increase as the designations go from Tropical Storm Zone to Zone F, with Tropical Storm Zone and Zone A as the most vulnerable. No other counties in the state have an F zone except the NEFL counties, for now. Counties who use designated evacuation zones will use these letters when they order evacuations.

  • T - Tropical Storm Zone (some counties use this zone)
  • A - Zone A
  • AB - Zone A/B (some counties group these)
  • B - Zone B
  • BC - Zones B/C (some counties group these)
  • C - Zone C
  • CD - Zones C/D (some counties group these)
  • D - Zone D
  • CDE - Zones C/D/E (some counties group these)
  • DE - Zones D/E (some counties group these)
  • E - Zone E
  • F - Zone F




April 26, 2018 9:23


MyFlorida.comEMAP Accredited

Copyright ©2017 FDEM | Privacy | Best Viewed With | Accessibility | Contact Us | Employment | Home

Florida Division of Emergency Management
2555 Shumard Oak Boulevard
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-2100
(850) 413-9969
800-226-4329 (TDD/ TTY)
French     Spanish     German